OVERVIEW | BOARD OF DIRECTORS | STAFF | SUPPORTERS

BOARD AGENDAS | ADVOCACY | HISTORY

Overview


Friends of Light Rail & Transit was established in 1985 to help promote and advocate for transit system projects and improvements in the Sacramento Region. The 20 member Board of Directors has supported dozens of planning and organizing efforts through public education and community advocacy. Notable projects and programs include: the Downtown Sacramento Streetcar outreach campaign, ongoing advocacy programs for new light rail service (including extensions), public safety and security improvement efforts, Transit Oriented Development planning, community workshops for station design, education and outreach publications, coordination of the organization’s social media program and facilitation and planning of special events to both educate the community and celebrate successes.

The Board of Directors meets quarterly and the Executive Committee meets monthly. The organization is staffed by a part-time Executive Director who oversees administrative activities, special events and projects, social media, program development, advocacy effort and community outreach. The annual budget of the organization is approximately $30,000.
up

Board of Directors


The Board of Directors of Friends of Light Rail & Transit is comprised of 23 members and 6 advisory Board members, representing a wide variety of interests and organizations. The board meets quarterly (March, June, September and December). Board members are listed below.

Michael Ault The Downtown Sacramento Partnership mault@downtownsac.org
Linda Budge City of Rancho Cordova lnbg@comcast.net
Jeff Damon Regional Transit jdamon@sacrt.com
Dain Domich Separovich-Domich ddomich@threetower.com
Rebecca Garrison Hwy 50 Corridor TMA rebecca@50corridortma.org
Bob Holderness Holderness Law Firm rholderness@holdernesslaw.com
Brian Holloway Holloway Land Company brian@hlandco.org
Rob Kerth SMUD Board rob@kerth.us
Diane G. Kindermann  Abbott & Kindermann dkindermann@aklandlaw.com
Sotiris Kolokotronis SKK Developments sotiris@urbancapitalpartners.com
Todd Leon CADA tleon@cadanet.org
Tom Matoff LTK Engineering tmatoff@ltk.com
Gina Mattern Siemens gina.mattern@siemens.com
Tim Murphy GenCorp Timothy.Murphy@gencorp.com
Marq Truscott Quadriga Landscape Architect marq@quadriga-inc.com
Jason Vitaich South Natomas TMA jason@sntma.org
Mike Wiley Regional Transit MWiley@sacrt.com

up

Staff

Seann Rooney

Rooney Tate Group

1818 L Street, Ste. 615

Sacramento CA 95818

447-1960, 447-1954

seann@rooneytategroup.com

up

Supporters & Sponsors

Annual Event Posters (and other information):

2015

2014

2013

2011

2009

2008

2007

up

Board Agendas

2015

2014

2013

2012

2011

 

up

Advocacy

Many project proponents ask for support from Friends of Light Rail & Transit (FLRT). FLRT asks that an evaluation form/criteria sheet (T.O.D.) be completed before the Board will endorse a project and write a support letter. For a copy of that form, please click here. The following is a list of support letters.

2015

2013

2011

2010

2009

2008

2007

2006

2004

2003

2002

2001

up

History

After 19 years we have been able to accumulate some information about transit in the region, however, we look forward to expanding this section and becoming more of a historic resource to those interested in how it all started in our community.

“How It Happened” (story of light rail in Sacramento)

By Ruth Hultgren
up


Back to home